Skip to main content
Edmentum Support

Deleting and Deactivating Users in PLATO Courseware

Explanation

User Deactivation

Summary: Marks user as inactive. They are not able to log in and access Courseware. Deactivating a user is reversible.  The system does some protective checks if a learner holds a reusable licenses and informs the admin that any reusable licenses will be returned to the pool if deactivated.

Deactivating a user:

Account administrators are able to deactivate users. When deactivating the user, the user still retains all progress data but is not able to log in and access Courseware.

User Deletion

Summary: Deleting a user is permanent and cannot be reversed.

Deleting a user:

The system will allow you to delete a Learner completely from the system only if that Learner has no progress data in any current or inactive assignments. Once a user starts an assignment, the user will not be able to be deleted from the system. To turn off the user's access to PLATO Courseware, you must instead deactivate the user.

You can also only delete an Instructor or Account Administrator if that user has not created or an active user in any Classes. Instructors cannot delete users.
A deleted user cannot be restored and the system does not record who deleted the user. Creating a new user with the same name will not bring back any Class membership or other information; it will be a new user with no connection to the deleted user.

If Learners have left the school, why can't you delete them?
  • PLATO Courseware retains all Learner progress data indefinitely, to meet any future reporting need, whether anticipated or unanticipated.
  • If an Account Administrator deactivates a Learner, however, the Learner will not appear on any list of active users (see below for more information on deactivating users).
  • If you change a Learner's grade level to Graduated by editing their user profile, the Learner is also deactivated automatically. See the article below for more information on how to edit a user profile:

How to edit a user profile

 

How To

How to deactivate a learner
  1. Only account administrators are able to deactivate/reactivate users. Select the Administration Center Link at the top of the Plato Courseware home page.
  2. Select the box next to the name of the user whose membership you would like to deactivate.
  3. Select actions and then deactivate
How to delete a learner
  1. Click the Administration Center link at the top of the Plato Courseware home page.
  2. Check the box next to the name of the user whose memberships you want to delete
  3. Click the actions box
  4. Select Activate All Memberships or Deactivate All Memberships from the drop-down list.
How to delete an educator
  1. Click the Administration Center link at the top of the Plato Courseware home page.
  2. Check the boxes next to the names of the user(s) you would like to delete.
  3. Click the Group Actions drop-down menu.
  4. Select Delete User(s).
  5. Click Yes in the confirmation message.

What's Next

For more information on deleting/deactivating users, please refer to the PLATO Courseware User Guide:

PLATO Courseware User Guides

 


How to get more help

Copyright Information

Virtual Workshops

Keep your implementation on track. As part of your Edmentum partnership, we provide ongoing training through our comprehensive collection of virtual workshops delivered on-demand. Whether you’re an advanced user who needs more detailed support to meet a specific need, or brand new to the Edmentum suite of services, we have a workshop for you.


Click here to register today for Edmentum Virtual Workshops!

  • Was this article helpful?